Choosing to Settle Down in Life

Right before the breakup with Mystery Man, I had been thinking of leaving my job in pursuit of working for myself as a freelancer or entrepreneur.  I think I’ve always had this urge in me to do this.  Then, after the breakup my friends warned that it may just be the breakup that is making me want to leave my job and that I shouldn’t make any rash decisions.  I decided to stay at my job, with the benefit being a large bonus payout if I stayed until the end of January.

Now that some time has passed since the breakup, and my bonus is about to be paid off, I’ve made the decision to finally leave and will be giving my notice in the next week.  I have a fantastic job that pays really well and allows me to travel within North America and collect enough points to pay for most of my personal travels.  I am leaving because the direction of the company is not exactly ideal, and working for myself has always been something that I’ve wanted to do.

Some of my friends and family members are not entirely convinced of this decision still, but I’ve made up my mind.  In the past, when I just get up and make a decision like this because I’ve thought it through and believe it to be the right thing, I’ve not regretted it and it turns out to be some of the best decisions that I’ve made in my life.  I do have a good feeling, and if all fails, it’s not difficult for me to get back into the corporate world.

I think that for the first time in my life, I’ve mentally decided that I am ready to settle down.  I cannot settle down if I have a job that requires me to travel a lot and is not sustainable and does not allow for progression.  I think that I’ve grown a lot from this post I wrote on choosing to be single nearly two years ago.  At that time, I had the choice of picking a job that was less demanding to a job that was challenging and required travel.  I chose the challenging job that required travel.  I noticed that the guys that I was picking were all overly ambitious and had unrealistic expectations in life, and yet I continued to pick Mystery Man who falls perfectly into that category.  It was as if I made the choice to not settle down quite yet.

It was some time in the last year of being with Mystery Man that I think I decided that I wanted to settle down.  When I asked my cousin to stop crashing at my place, and when I took the initiative to clean my place, and even the decision to raise puppies.  I was starting to root myself into my lifestyle in a permanent way.  My decision to leave my overly demanding job is just a part of that progression, and it seems like Mystery Man leaving me just naturally occurred because his short sightedness with the relationship means he doesn’t fit well into where my life was going.

So now this blog post nearly 2 years later is about how I am now choosing to settle down and picking a lifestyle that suits this decision.  I think something in me clicked about six months ago and I’m only seeing this right now.  I may be single right now, but I think I have really made up my mind about seriously settling down.

Leave a Reply

