Maybe Boring is Good?

My much anticipated date with mystery man was simple and kind of boring, actually really boring. Dinner was fine, and I think he enjoyed it. He showed genuine interest in my work and insisted that I show him. So we did that and then watched some YouTube videos together. He installed a lightbulb for me and helped me clean up.

There was no flirting action. He yawned at least 10 times and used the washroom a handful of times, checked his phone and watch a bunch of times too.  He left before midnight. We mainly connected over the video game we played, oh and he showed me his dream car.

Do we have chemistry? I don’t know, but we do have a lot in common. Our lifestyle and the work that we do, oh and that video game.

Almost zero flirting action. We flirt like crazy during social events. I think he’s showing me that he can be a gentleman?

We hugged at the end of the night and it was a little awkward like he wanted it to last longer than it did.  Was he trying to kiss me? He said he would make me dinner next week.

I find it difficult to believe he’s showing all of this interest all of a sudden.  He wants me (I think) and I am still very interested.

Maybe I’m over thinking it and he was just tired.  I really hope it didn’t seem like I was trying to over compensate for the boring night too much.

The whole night was underwhelming.  I don’t know what to think. Maybe boring is good? Maybe a whirlwind relationship, the kind that I’m used to is not the kind that works.

Truthfully, I want it to work out so badly. I genuinely like him and I feel like I have something to give him; an appreciation of the beauty in life, an honest opinion and an intelligent companion that knows how to relate to him. I almost feel like I already know that I love him.  Yeah, I know that sounds crazy but it’s not something that I could say about socks jock even after almost a year of dating.

Leave a Reply

